Le conseil d'administration

Le conseil d’administration est composé de membres de MetSoc et de bénévoles qui se consacrent au soutien de la société en aidant à la planification d’activités communautaires, de webinaires, d’événements et de conférences.

Le conseil d’administration est composé de trois groupes:

Le bureau exécutif

Le bureau exécutif est composé du président sortant, du président, des vice-présidents, du trésorier et du secrétaire.

Sections techniques

Les sections techniques représentent la diversité technique de la communauté des métaux, minéraux et matériaux.

Comités permanents

Ces comités sont dédiés aux différents services de la société tels que les membres, les étudiants, l’EDI, les publications, etc.

Conseil d'administration de MetSoc

Roki Fukuzawa


Specialist, Hatch

Janice Zinck

Président sortant

Director – Green Mining Innovation, base/precious metals, and critical minerals

Dimitrios Filippou

1er vice-président

RioExpert Metallurgist, Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium

Julie Lévesque

2e vice-président(e)

R&D project manager, Centre de métallurgie du Québec

Lukas Bichler

3e vice-président(e)

Professor, University of British Columbia

Greg Richards


Teck Metals, Retired

Jessica Hiscocks



Sections techniques

Brittany MacKinnon


Process Engineer-Pyrometallurgy, Hatch

Cinziana Sist


Specialist Metallurgist, Hatch

Sumanth Shankar

Métaux légers

Professor, McMaster University

Gaofeng Li

Les Matériaux

National Research Council Canada

Charlotte Gibson

Science et ingénierie des minéraux

Assistant Professor, Queen’s University

Elmira Moosavi


Associate Professor, École de technologie supérieure (ÉTS)

Comités permanents

Daniel Brosig

Développement des affaires - Président

Director, Energy Solutions, Gas Cleaning Technologies LLC

Engin Ozberk

Historique de la métallurgie - Président(e)

CIM Fellow

André Phillion


Director, McMaster University

Sidney Omelon

Affaires étudiants - Président

Associate Professor, McGill University

Georges Houlachi

Services aux membres - Président(e)

Hydro Quebec, LTE lab

Greg Richards

Équité, diversité, et inclusion (EDI) - Président

EIT, Rio Tinto

Roki Fukuzawa is a Specialist at Hatch with more than thirteen years of experience in the design and engineering of off-gas handling systems for metallurgical clients in copper, nickel, zinc and gold industries. She has worked on off-gas projects from conceptual studies to detailed engineering. Roki is the Chair of COM 2023.

Janice Zinck currently works with the Government of Nova Scotia in Geoscience and Mines. Zinck is a former director at CanmetMINING, a research, development and innovation arm of Natural Resources Canada. Janice has more than 25 years’ experience in the leadership of multidisciplinary programs to address mineral resource development-related to environmental and processing challenges. She has been involved in many national and international multi-stakeholder initiatives where she has developed strategic priorities, partnerships and collaborations. She was instrumental in the creation of Canada’s Green Mining Initiative and more recently the national program on rare earth elements and chromite development in Canada.

She has been a member of CIM since 1993 and has been on CIM Council since 2010. In addition, she has served on the boards of the Canadian Mineral Processors, the Metallurgy and Materials Society and the Environmental and Social Responsibility Society of CIM, and currently is a board director for MIRARCO (Mining Innovation Rehabilitation and Applied Research Corporation). She has been a CIM Branch Chair (Ottawa) and is a CIM Fellow. She is a past CIM Distinguished Lecturer and was profiled as one of 18 “Women of Impact in the Canadian Materials, Metallurgy, and Mining Fields” and more recently, profiled by the Canadian Museum of Science and Technology. 

Janice has undergraduate degrees in geology and chemistry, and a master’s degree in metallurgical engineering. She holds two patents, has published extensively and presented widely on aspects relating to mineral/metallurgical processing and environmental management. More recently she completed an executive leadership program from the Institute on Governance. 

Dimitrios Filippou, Eng., Ph.D. is a metallurgical engineer with extensive experience in metal extraction R&D, process upscaling and optimisation, life cycle assessment and technology strategy development. He holds a Dipl. Eng. from the National Technical University of Athens (1988) and a Ph.D. degree from McGill University (1994). Since 2003, he works for the TiO2 Products Group of Rio Tinto Iron & Titanium. Dimitrios maintains strong ties to professional and research communities. He served as Secretary and Chair of the Hydrometallurgy Section of MetSoc (2009-2016), and he co-chaired the symposium “Pressure Hydrometallurgy 2012.”

Julie Lévesque is an R&D project manager at Quebec Metallurgy Center (CMQ), where she is the leader of the mechanical forming axis. She has close to 15 years of experience in the optimization of forming processes in collaboration with industries in the automotive, aerospace and packaging industry, amongst others.

Julie has been involved in MetSoc since 2017 as the Chair of the Light Metals technical section. She was the chair of the Light Metal Technology – Applications for the Transportation Industry at COM 2018 and a co-chair of other Light Metals symposiums at COM in 2019 and 2020. She is also active in her community, being a Women Ambassador of the Profession for the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (Quebec Professional Engineers order).

Greg Richards graduated in metallurgical engineering from the University of British Columbia. He continued with the department, teaching process metallurgy and conducting research in non-ferrous pyrometallurgy. He later moved to Cominco Research, working in their metallurgical research group, and then to the technical services department of Trail Operations, Teck Metals Ltd. He recently retired from his position as superintendent of knowledge management, responsible for developing systems for the capture and transfer of critical business knowledge. He has served as a board member of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM since 2007.