Fermer ce champ de recherche.

Médaille d'argent de MetSoc

La médaille d'argent, créée en 1986, est décernée aux personnes qui ont construit, soutenu et développé la Société de métallurgie et des matériaux de l'ICM pour en faire l'organisation solide et de renommée internationale qu'elle est aujourd'hui.

MetSoc Silver Medal Award

Lauréat 2023

Roderick Guthrie

McGill University

Citation: In recognition of his outstanding contribution to the field of metallurgy and steel making, his role on the executive of MetSoc and his leadership in training metallurgy professionals who have for decades made a strong contribution to MetSoc.

Contributions to the Metallurgical Society of CIM.

Roderick I.L. Guthrie is McGill’s Macdonald Professor of Metallurgy and Director of the McGill Metals Processing Centre. He is recognized internationally for his outstanding research and development activities in Process Metallurgy. He has made pioneering contributions with ground-breaking inventions in liquid metal processing and quality, including major strip casting initiatives. He has published three academic textbooks, authored, or co-authored, more than 500 publications while training more than 200 researchers for industry and academia over the past fifty-odd years.

He was President of the Metallurgical Society of CIM in 1994. Together with TMS President, Professor J. K. Brimacombe, they spearheaded the formation of joint Student Chapters between MetSoc-CIM and the TMS. He was previously a founding member of the Iron and Steel Section of MetSoc in 1970, together with Professor Alan Kay and Peter Stubbs (Dofasco), and serving as Chairman between 1981-83. He also became a founding member, together with Engin Ozberk (Cameco), and Don Macmillan (ALCAN), of the Light Metals Section of MetSoc. That section was established in 1988 in recognition of Canada’s, and particularly Quebec’s, leading roles in the global production of aluminium and other light metals. Since 2013, when Dr M. Isac, became Chair of the Light Metals Section of MetSoc, she initiated the long-running series of successful Symposia on “Light Metals for Transportation”, where Dr Guthrie acted as a co-Chair. Most recently, at the request of the MetSoc Board, and recognising his intimate knowledge of Extractive Metallurgy, particularly of steelmaking and aluminium extraction techniques, he was one of four Past-Presidents invited to express their views on the Global Climate Change Imperatives. During this introductory Plenary Session, chaired by Dr J. Zinck, 1st V-P, he addressed possible ways and new process routes for de-fossilizing the Ferrous and Non-Ferrous Industries, given 2050 is only 27 years away.

2022 – M. Isac

2010 – M. King

1998 – G.L. Bolton

2021 – M. Collins

2009 – G.P. Demopoulos

1997 – E. Ozberk

2020 – M. Wells

2008 – S. Marcuson

1996 – B.R. Conard

2019 – B. Davis

2007 – H. W. King

1995 – A. Plumpton

2018 – P. Wanjara

2006 – P.J. Mackey

1994 – G.M. Ritcey

2017 – D. Boyd

2005 – J. Finch

1993 – L. Seeley

2016 – D. Wilkinson

2004 – H. Henein

1992 – P. Tarassoff

2015 – M. Sahoo

2003 – C. Twigge-Molecey

1991 – W. Williams

2014 – G. Richards

2002 – A. Vahed

1990 – W.T. Thompson

2013 – N. Stubina

2001 – J.M. Walsh

1989 – J.E. Dutrizac

2012 – A. Allaire

2000 – C. Dìaz

1988 – M. Rigaud

2011 – J. Kapusta

1999 – F. Habashi

1987 – N.G. Thomas

1986 – J.M. Toguri


La médaille d’argent est destinée à récompenser les personnes qui ont contribué efficacement, sur une longue période, à la croissance de MetSoc. La nomination et l’attribution de la médaille d’argent relèvent de la responsabilité du président sortant et ne sont pas ouvertes aux nominations générales de l’ensemble des membres. Le vote est effectué par tous les anciens présidents.

Ce prix n’est pas doté d’une somme d’argent.

MetSoc Silver Medal Award

Le programme de nomination pour le prix est terminé pour 2023.