Close this search box.

Recent MetSoc/CIM Award Recipients

CIM Distinguished Lecturer

CIM Distinguished Lecturers are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in scientific, technical, management or educational activities related to the minerals industry, and speak at CIM Branch and Student Chapter meetings across the country.

2023 Recipient

Metsoc Research Excellence Award

Priti Wanjara

Dr. Priti Wanjara is Principal Researcher at the National Research Council of Canada. She obtained her B. Eng. and Ph.D. from McGill University in Materials Engineering. Priti is recognized internationally as a leading material scientist in advanced manufacturing technologies, specializing in developing welding process design and additive manufacturing solutions for aerospace, automotive and power generation industries. She is the author of 250 refereed articles and 140 technical reports. She currently serves on the Neutrons Canada Board and the Scientific Advisory Committee of the NSERC network for Holistic Innovation in Additive Manufacturing. Within CIM, Dr. Wanjara is a contributing member for 30 years. She is a 30-year CIM Member, Past President of the Metallurgical Society and an elected Fellow of CIM, ASM International, Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute, Canadian Welding Bureau, and the Canadian Academy of Engineering. Her prestigious recognitions from the Metallurgical Society of CIM include the Brimacombe Award, Silver Medal and Distinguished Scientist Award.   

2022 – Steven Thorpe

2021 – Gillian Holcroft

2020 – James Budac

MetSoc has chosen to allow each section in rotation to nominate the CIM Distinguished Lecturer:

2019 Pyrometallurgy
2020 Hydrometallurgy
2021 Sustainability
2022 Materials
2023 Light Metals
2024 Minerals Science and Engineering
2025 Pyrometallurgy

CIM Fellowship

The CIM Fellowship award was established by CIM Council in November 1986 for outstanding continuous contributions to CIM and/or the mining, metallurgical and petroleum industries.

2023 – none

2022 – Maurice Tagami

2021 – Mihaiela Isac, Boyd Davis

2020 – Joël Kapusta, Qingxia Liu

2019 – none

2018 – Daolun Chen, Greg Richards

2017 – none

2016 – G.Kipouros, M.Militzer, S.Shipilov

2015 – R.M.Berezowsky, J.J. Budac, X.Cao, N.Voermann

2014 – K.Coley, M.Collins, J.Goode, D.Gallienne

2013 – Vladimiros Papangelakis, Ravi Ravindran, Priti Wanjara

2012 – Akram Alfantazi, Georges Houlachi, Edmond K. Lam, Jean-Pierre Martin, Nathan Stubina

2011 – Janice Zinck, T. Utigard

2010 – Daniel Ashman, Hubert King, Ronald Molnar, Bert Wasmund, Zhenghe Xu

2009 – M. Agnew, M. Chaturvedi, D. Dreisinger, I. Masters, M. Sahoo, M. Sudbury

2008 – A. Allaire, D.L. Jones, E. Krause, and R. Sridhar

2007 – G. P. Demopoulos, B. Harris, R. Lee, N. L. Piret

2006 – R. Drew, H. Henein, V.S. Sastri and M. Xu

2005 – J. Laskowski

2004 – C.A. Fleming and S. Yue

2003 – A. Bustos, R. del Villar, T. Lehner, L. Surges, K. Thomas

2002 – M.E. Chalkley, C.A. Pickles, G.M. Ritcey, G.W. Smith

2001 – A. Galibois, C. Twigge-Molecey, S.R. Rao

2000 – C.Bazin, W.K. Lu, A.D. Pelton, D.L. Piron, G.R. Purdy, W.T. Yen

1999 – C.M. Bickert, T.T. Chen, L.E. Collins, G.H. Kaiura, V.I. Lakshmanan, D.J. Lloyd, R.W. Revie, I.V. Samarasekera, A. Vahed, D.S. Wilkinson

1998 – F. Habashi, D.W. MacMillan, W.J. Thoburn, R.C. Urquhart

1997 – L.M. Amaratunga, D. Poggi, G. Ruddle, N. Ryan, W.T. Thompson

1996 – B.R. Conard, P. Mackey, J.W. Matousek, W. Petruk, G. Van Weert

1995 – M.C. Bell, G.L. Bolton, G. Irons, D.A.R. Kay, J.P. Lewis, S. Marcuson, J. McGurn, H.J. McQueen, J. Peacey

1994 – J. Cameron, J.J. Jonas, A. McLean, E. Ozberk

1993 – C. Diaz, C.J. Newman, M.L. Wayman

1992 – G. Hatch, V. Mackiw

1991 – C. Bale, R. Bergman, W.G. Davenport, L. Seeley, G.C. Weatherly, D.R. Weir

1990 – W. Curlook, G.R. Heffernan, W.J. Langford, F. Weinberg

1989 – J.D. Boyd, J.E. Gruzleski, J.S.G. Kirkaldy, P.J. Hunt, B.H. Morrison, L.M. Pidgeon

1988 – J.K. Brimacombe, W.C. Cooper, J.E. Dutrizac, E. Peters, P. Stubbs, J.M. Toguri, W.M. Williams

1987 – R.I.L. Guthrie, D.J. Hains, M. Rigaud, P.Tarassoff, D.W. Wyslouzil

Please refer to the CIM Website for complete details.