Close this search box.

MetSoc Brimacombe Award

In January 1998, the MetSoc Board of Directors created this award to honour the memory of Professor J. Keith Brimacombe who was an innovative giant in the field of materials process engineering.

THE CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR IS OPEN for 2024. The deadline has been extended to February 29, 2024

MetSoc Brimacombe Award

2023 Recipient

Yu Zou

University of Toronto

Citation: In recognition of his contributions in physical metallurgy and metal additive manufacturing.

Dr. Yu Zou is an Assistant Professor and Dean’s Spark Professor in the Department of Materials Science & Engineering at University of Toronto (U of T). Before he joined U of T in 2018, he worked as a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He received his Ph.D., Master’s, and bachelor’s degrees in Materials Science and Engineering from ETH Zurich, McGill University, and Beihang University, respectively. He was also a JSPS visiting scholar at Kyoto University. His research areas include physical metallurgy, nanomechanics, microstructural analysis, and metal additive manufacturing, for aerospace, automotive, energy, and health applications. Dr. Zou has garnered several major early-career awards in the materials community, including the 2022 TMS Early Career Faculty Fellow Award, 2021 Young Leaders Professional Development Award, and 2020 JMR Early Career Scholars Prize by MRS, as well as awards bestowed by U of T, Ontario and Canada, including the Connaught New Researcher Award and Ontario Early Researcher Award. To date, he has published more than 60 peer-reviewed journal papers, including Nature Materials, Nature Communications, Nano Letters, Physical Review Materials, Acta Materialia, and Scripta Materialia. He has served as the Chair of the Materials Technical Section of MetSoc since 2020. He co-chaired the Canadian Materials Science Conference in 2022.

2022 – L. Tafaghodi  2015 – M. Barati 
2021 – W. Liu  2014 – A. Phillion 
2020 – P. Lind  2013 – E. Asselin 
2019 – H. Zurob  2012 – L. Bichler 
2018 – J. Song  2011 – M. Brochu 
2017 – S. Mostaghel  2010 – P. Coursol 
2016 – K. Chattopadhyay  2009 – P. Wanjara 


The Brimacombe award is to recognize early-career MetSoc member achievers who have made noteworthy contributions in any of the scientific and technological disciplines relevant to MetSoc.

Preference will be given to an individual who has demonstrated the ability to collaborate with all parts of the metallurgical and materials community.

All nominees must have a minimum of three years of membership in the Institute and be in good standing.  The contributions and impact must be to the benefit of Canada.

There is no cash prize for this award.

MetSoc Pyrometallurgy Best Paper Award

The nominees of this award must be individuals working for a Canadian academic, industrial, or government organization, who are within the first 10 years of their professional career at the time of nomination.


The award nomination program is closed for 2023.


The nominator has 5 steps to complete.  The documents can be uploaded to our online nomination system.

  1. Fill in the contribution box – a summary of why this person is being nominated (see item 3) with any information listed above that is not included in the CV.
  2. Fill in the citation – in 15 words this person is being recognized for.
  3. The CV should contain the items listed below. If the CV does not contain these items, consider adding them to the Contribution box and letter statement:
    1. Major contributions relevant to the award
    2. A record of at least five relevant patents and/or papers authored by the nominee plus a count of other patents and papers
    3. A service history related to CIM/MetSoc if applicable
    4. A record of the years of membership in CIM
    5. A listing of volunteer activities if applicable
    6. A listing of awards previously received
    7. A listing of academic achievements
  4. One written letter by the nominator on letterhead describing in full length why this candidate is nominated for the award.
  5. A minimum of 3 Endorsers (outside of company colleagues) – these endorsers simply must support with an online approval click, however, a supporting letter is also welcomed and encouraged.

General Policies

  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category.
  • No Member of the Executive Board shall be nominated for a MetSoc administered Award while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • All nominations will stand for three years.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the MetSoc Awards Committee of The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.
  • The award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Conference of Metallurgists.
  • Posthumous awards will be allowed only if the candidate has already been shortlisted.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.