Close this search box.

Metsoc Research Excellence Award

The MetSoc Research Excellence Award was established by the Aluminum Company of Canada Limited for “a highly significant contribution to the field of metallurgy”.

THE CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR IS OPEN for 2024. The deadline is February 12, 2024

This award is supported by:

2024 Recipient

Dongyang Li

University of Alberta

Citation: In recognition of outstanding contributions to the tribo-materials and wear control.

Dr. D.Y. Li is a Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at University of Alberta. He holds a B.Sc. in Solid Mechanics from University of Science and Technology China, a M.Sc. in Condensed-Matter Physics from Sun Yat-sen University, a PhD in Materials Physics from University of Science and Technology Beijing, and a PhD in Metallurgical Engineering from McGill University. Dr. Li was a postdoctoral fellow at the Pennsylvania State University before joining University of Alberta in 1998. He is an Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering at University of Alberta, and also holds adjunct professorship at several foreign universities. Dr. Li is on the editorial board for eighteen international journals. He has in excess of 480 scientific publications, including more than 430 journal publications. Dr. Li is an invited contributor for authoritative handbooks on wear and tribology (Elsevier, Springer, and ASM International). He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (FCAE), Member of European Academy of Sciences and Arts (MEASA), Fellow of the Institute of Physics (FInstP), and Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining ((FMMM). His interests of research include materials design, surfaces and interfaces, wear and corrosion-wear synergy, and computational materials science.

2023 – Priti Wanjara​

2022 – Mihaiela Isac 

2003 – G. Kaiura 

1984 – C.R. Masson 

2021 – Boyd Davis 

2002 – J.A. Szpunar 

1983 – W.- K. Lu 

2020 – Vladimiros Papangelakis 

2001 – T.T. Chen 

1982 – E. Peters 

2019 – Hani Henein 

2000 – H. McQueen 

1981 – W.G. Davenport 

2018 – not attributed 

1999 – E. Krause 

1980 – F. Weinberg 

2017 – George Demopoulos 

1998 – R. Meadowcroft 

1979 – J.M. Toguri 

2016 – Z. Xu 

1997 – N.J. Themelis 

1978 – H. Ross 

2015 – Daolun Chen 

1996 – J.A. Finch 

1977 – A. Hone 

2014 – M. Sahoo 

1995 – G.C. Weatherly 

1976 – W.M. Williams 

2013 – C. Ravindran 

1994 – J.E. Dutrizac 

1975 – K.W. Downes 

2012 – David S. Wilkinson 

1993 – E.B. Hawbolt 

1974 – W.M. Armstrong 

2011 – Gary R. Purdy 

1992 – J.E. Gruzleski 

1973 – J. Leja 

2010 – Mahesh Chaturvedi 

1991 – A. McLean 

1972 – J. Convey 

2009 – A. Plumtree 

1990 – J.J. Jonas 

1971 – C.S. Samis 

2008 – R. Berezowsky 

1989 – E.W. Dewing 

1970 – W.H. Gauvin 

2007 – G. A. Irons 

1988 – J.K. Brimacombe 

1969 – F.A. Forward 

2006 – Engin Ozberk 

1987 – R.I.L. Guthrie 

1968 – J.S.G. Kirkaldy 

2005 – David Dreisinger 

1986 – S.N. Flengas 

1967 – W.C. Winegard 

2004 – J. Laskowski 

1985 – G.M. Ritcey 

1966 – L.M. Pidgeon, M.B.E. 


The MetSoc Award is the premier award for contribution to the metallurgy or materials field by a MetSoc member academic or research scientist in any Canadian research laboratory or Canadian university. The award recognizes a lifetime contribution in teaching and research or outstanding individual work resulting in a significant breakthrough in the metallurgy or materials practices. 

There is no cash prize for this award.

Metsoc Research Excellence Award

All nominees must have a minimum of five years of CIM National membership and be in good standing.  Membership is not required to be consecutive but the member has to have the current and previous year in good standing. Exceptions to this membership requirement may be made in the case where a candidate has a substantial historical record of contributions to MetSoc. The contributions and impact must be to the benefit of Canada.


The award nomination program is closed for 2024.


The nominator has 6 steps to complete.  The documents can be uploaded to our online nomination system.

  1. Fill in the contribution box – a summary of why this person is being nominated (see item 3) with any information listed above that is not included in the CV.
  2. Fill in the citation – in 15 words this person is being recognized for.
  3. The CV should contain the items listed below. If the CV does not contain these items, consider adding them to the Contribution box and letter statement:
    1. Major contributions relevant to the award
    2. A record of at least five relevant patents and/or papers authored by the nominee plus a count of other patents and papers
    3. A service history related to CIM/MetSoc if applicable
    4. A record of the years of membership in CIM
    5. A listing of volunteer activities if applicable
    6. A listing of awards previously received
    7. A listing of academic achievements
  4. One written letter by the nominator on letterhead describing in full length why this candidate is nominated for the award.
  5. A minimum of 3 Endorsers (outside of company colleagues) – these endorsers simply must support with an online approval click, however, a supporting letter is also welcomed and encouraged.
  6. Research Excellence Award: This award requires an additional letter of support by a peer in the field on letterhead for a total of 2 letters included in the nomination package.  Additional weight and marks may be considered by the committee if additional written letters of peer support are added to the nomination package (Max 5 additional uploads will be allowed).

General Policies

  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category. 
  • No Member of the Executive Board shall be nominated for a MetSoc administered award while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • Each award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant with no more than one award recipient per year.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • All nominations will stand for three years.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the MetSoc Awards Committee of The Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM.
  • The award shall be presented at the Awards Banquet of the Conference of Metallurgists.
  • Posthumous awards will be allowed only if the candidate has already been shortlisted.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.