Close this search box.

Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award

The Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award was established in 1976 by Sherritt Gordon Mines Limited (now Sherritt International Corporation), to recognize MetSoc members who have made a significant contribution in the field of hydrometallurgy through research, plant design and operations and education or CIM affairs. The award consists of dual, engraved medals and a cash prize. The award is presented by a representative of Sherritt International Corporation at the Annual Hydrometallurgy Section Meeting.

THE CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR IS OPEN for 2024. The deadline has been extended to February 29, 2024.

Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award

2023 Recipient

Edouard Asselin

The University of British Columbia

Citation:  In recognition of outstanding contributions to hydrometallurgy, mineral electrochemistry, and engineering education.

Edouard Asselin is a Professor in the Department of Materials Engineering at The University of British Columbia. He began his research career at UBC with the Industrial Research Chair in Hydrometallurgy in 2007.  Dr. Asselin is an applied electrochemist: he teaches and conducts research in aqueous metal extraction, electro-metallurgy, corrosion and protective coatings.  He was President of the Metallurgical Society of Canada in 2019 and he was a member of its Board of Directors from 2009 to 2021.  Dr. Asselin has published over 140 peer-reviewed journal articles in the areas of hydrometallurgy, electrochemistry and corrosion.  He is a co-inventor of two licensed and commercial hydrometallurgical technologies.

2022 – N. Verbaan 

2007 – J. F. Turgeon 

1991 – B.R. Conard 

2021 – No Award 

2006 – P. Kondos 

1990 – P. Claessens 

2020 – M. Dry 

2005 – M. Collins 

1989 – R.C. Kerby 

2019 – No Award 

2004 – V.G. Papangelakis 

1988 – V.I. Lakshmanan 

2018 – T. T. Chen 

2003 – K.S. Fraser 

1987 – P. Garritsen 

2017 – J.R. Goode 

2002 – I. Mihaylov 

1986 – R. Berezowsky 

2016 – L. Centomo 

2001 – C.J. Ferron 

1985 – D.R. Weir 

2015 – E. Lam 

2000 – G. Demopoulos 

1984 – J.E. Dutrizac 

2014 – E. Peek 

1999 – G. Houlachi 

1983 – V.A. Ettel 

2013 – Y. Choi 

1998 – D.W. Ashman 

1982 – G.M. Swinkels 

2012 – Eberhard Krause 

1997 – C.A. Fleming 

1981 – R.W. Stanley 

2011 – Michael E. Chalkley 

1995 – B. Harris1996 – B. Krysa 

1980 – D.A. Huggins 

2010 – David G. Dixon 

1994 – D. Dreisinger 

1979 – G. Van Weert 

2009 – Derek Kerfoot 

1993 – L.I. Rosato 

1978 – A.W. Ashbrook 

2008 – No Award 

1992 – I.M. Masters 

1977 – G.M. Ritcey 




Candidates must be CIM members who are either a Canadian citizen or an individual who, while resident in Canada, made significant contributions to the advancement of Hydrometallurgy. Exceptions to this membership requirement may be made in the case where a candidate has a substantial historical record of contributions to MetSoc.

The Awards Committee of the Hydrometallurgy Section administers the award.

Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award
  1. Nominations for the award shall be accompanied by not fewer than five (5) members endorsements of CIM.
  2. A testimonial statement giving clearly the reasons that make the nominee a suitable candidate shall accompany each nomination.
  3. A citation of 30 words or less
  4. Other supporting data (e.g. curriculum vitae) can be included if desired.

If the CV does not contain all items, the nominator should fill in the information in the Contributions text box in the online form (this will be available in the software system when the Call opens).

General Policies

  • A nominator can put forward only one candidate up for nomination in each award category.
  • No member of the MetSoc Executive Board shall be nominated while in office. The nomination will be held until the term on the executive board is expired.
  • The nominators are responsible for verifying that all conditions of the award have been satisfied and all procedures were properly followed in making the nomination.
  • The award shall be made from time to time as circumstances warrant in recognition of significant contributions to the advancement of Hydrometallurgy through research, plant design and operations, education or CIM affairs.
  • Nominees shall remain in nomination for three years, and at the end of that period shall be eligible for renomination in the manner specified above.
  • The adjudication of the award shall be made by the Awards Committee of the Hydrometallurgy Section of the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM. The Committee shall consist of (a) an Awards Chair, appointed from within the Hydrometallurgy Section, who is either a previous Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award winner or otherwise ineligible to receive the award, and (b) the five immediately previous Sherritt Hydrometallurgy Award winners. If the Awards Chair is one of these, the sixth most recent award winner will join the Committee.
  • Self-nominations are not permitted.
  • No more than one award may be made in any one year.
  • At the completion of the Awards Committee adjudication, the Awards Chair shall notify the Hydrometallurgy Section Chair of the Committee’s selection.  The Hydrometallurgy Section Chair should, in turn, forward the dossier on the recipient to MetSoc’s Awards Committee Chair for approval by this Committee and subsequent ratification by the MetSoc Board of Directors.
  • The award, including the testimonial, should be presented at the Annual Hydrometallurgy Section Meeting. The Section may invite the recipient to deliver a special lecture during the Section Meeting.


The award nomination program is closed for 2023.