Close this search box.

Pyrometallurgy Student Award – In Honor Of Professor Toguri

THE CALL FOR NOMINATIONS FOR IS OPEN for 2024. The deadline is February 12, 2024

The purpose of the Pyrometallurgy Student award, in honor of Professor Toguri, is to encourage and support the attainment of educational goals by students who have demonstrated a high level of academic achievement at a Canadian university.

2023 Recipient

Angshuman Podder

McMaster University

Angshuman Podder is a Ph.D. Candidate in the Materials Science Engineering Department at McMaster University. He is currently a part of the McMaster Process Metallurgy Group and SIM3P group supervised by Dr. K. S. Coley and Dr. A. B. Phillion at the McMaster Steel Research Center. He completed his B.E. and M.Tech. at Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India, and the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Bombay, Powai, India, respectively.

Angshuman’s research background is in the field of extractive metallurgy and is currently working on studying nonmetallic inclusion behavior in steelmaking vessels. His research focuses on the development of online process models to aid in better process control of ladle refining practices. Specifically, his research aims to build mechanistic models out of existing thermodynamic and kinetic principles, which can be used to predict refining reactions in multicomponent, multiphase high-temperature reactors. Among other achievements, Angshuman was invited as the keynote speaker for STTELSIM 2021 and is the recipient of the 2022 Dante Cosma Award. He is also engaged with student activities, presently the Vice President of the McMaster Materials Technical Society (MSTS) and the department steward for CUPE 3906. Outside work, Angshuman loves to write music and compose on his guitar.

Award Terms

The value of the award is a single payment of $3,000 CAD. The amount of the award is reviewed annually by the Pyrometallurgy Section of MetSoc. No single individual should hold more than one student award within MetSoc including its Technical sections in a given year. One award shall be made each year. However, the Award Committee may decide not to make an award if a suitable recipient is not identified.


The candidate should be registered in a Master’s or Ph.D. program in the field of pyrometallurgy during the 2021/2022 academic year in a Canadian university.

Pyrometallurgy Student Award – In Honor Of Professor Toguri
Pyrometallurgy Student Award – In Honor Of Professor Toguri

Recipient’s Obligation

Information for the Student Scholarship Recipients

The award shall be presented at the Conference of Metallurgists. At that time, the recipient may be requested to speak on a subject of major interest to them in the field of metallurgy.

We encourage student recipients to apply for student travel funding (if travel is more than 500km) through the MetSoc Student program to help subsidize travel costs. The Pyrometallurgy section may grant the student recipients a complimentary ticket for the award banquet.

a. The applicant’s resume; including related experience in the field of pyrometallurgy. Indicate internships, work and/or co-op experience, academic courses and projects related to the pyrometallurgy. Current involvement in extracurricular activities is a plus.

b. Student statement of intent; including the applicant’s a career/educational objectives in pyrometallurgy, how this award would help her/him in achieving these objectives, future plans to stay involved in the pyrometallurgical industry or research community (max. 1 page).

c. Name of at least one reference to be contacted upon request.

d. The applicant should be willing to become a member of the MetSoc Pyrometallurgy section, attend the section meetings on a regular basis, and help in future conferences or section activities.

(The transcript of the student is no longer required)

The nomination criteria: are academic excellence, research potential, leadership, community service and extra-curricular activities. The adjudication of the scholarship shall be made by the Metallurgy and Materials Society of CIM. In making its determination, the MetSoc Pyrometallurgy Executive Committee will consider the academic excellence of the nominee and make a selection on the basis of demonstrated achievement and potential for significant contributions to the field.


The scholarship application program is closed for 2023.